Lynden senior Brendan Kleindel, in just his first full year of varsity action, was selected as first-team all-Northwest Conference. Kleindel led the county with 33 runs scored as the Lions’ shortstop. (Eric Trent/Lynden Tribune)

WHATCOM — Sehome sophomore Jacob Kaepernick was named the Northwest Conference boys baseball Pitcher of the Year on May 28, as voted on by the league’s coaches.

Kaepernick, also the Mariners’ starting quarterback in football, finished the season with a blistering 0.67 ERA and a 9-3 record, according to whatcompreps.com. He registered 73 strikeouts and gave up 10 walks in 72⅓ innings.

Six local players were selected for the first team. Lynden’s Brendan Kleindel led the county with 33 runs scored. Teammate Jack Doolittle led the county with a .627 slugging percentage. Mount Baker’s Kaleb Bass led the county with a .483 batting average. The other three are Sehome’s Trevor Seaholm, who led the county with 31 hits and recorded six saves on the mound; and Blaine’s Chase Abshere and Ben Wallen. 

Second-team selections are: Lynden’s Carter Parcher, who tied for the county lead with 24 RBIs; Lynden’s Connor White, who earned a .447 on-base percentage; Lynden Christian’s Shale Whittern, who batted .439; Ferndale’s Bryan Ebe, who batted .328, and Kobe Sandstrom, who accumulated a .556 on-base percentage; and Sehome’s Lukas DeLisle (16 RBIs and 20 runs).