It’s mostly state and federal offices in the 2020 election

   WHATCOM — Candidate filing week is coming up on May 11-15. Offices up for election in 2020 are mostly state and federal, including for two-year representatives and for Washington governor. 

  In the 42nd District of north Whatcom County, Lynden Republican Luanne Van Werven is the incumbent in Position 1 and Bellingham Democrat Sharon Shewmake is the incumbent in Position 2.

  Each has already drawn a challenger, Alicia Rule of Blaine as a Democrat for Position 1 and Jennifer Sefzik of Ferndale as a Republican for Position 2. 

  The state Senate position held by Doug Ericksen is not up for election this year.

  Suzan DelBene is the current 1st District representative in Congress, Rick Larsen for the 2nd District; both are Democrats. Neither of the two U.S. Senate seats for Washington are up for election.

  Also, all four Whatcom County Superior Court judge positions — Robert E. Olson, Deborra Garrett, Lee Grochmal and David Freeman — are on the ballot, as are four justice positions on the Washington State Supreme Court.

  The Public Utility District Position 1 held by Jeff McClure is up for voting.

  County Auditor Diana Bradrick advises prospective candidates, whether running for reelection or for the first time, to review the Candidate Filing Guide available on the Auditor’s website at The guide gives information candidates need to know before they file and on through certification of the election. Requirements and regulations can change from year to year.

  Candidates are encouraged to file their Declaration of Candidacy online at: Online filing begins at 9 a.m. Monday, May 11, and closes at 4 p.m. Friday, May 15.  

  For those wanting to file in person at the Auditor’s Office, please call the election division at 360-778-5102 to find out about those procedures. This process opens May 11 at 8:30 a.m. and ends May 15 at 4:30 p.m.

  A candidate may mail the Declaration of Candidacy form accompanied by the filing fee to the Whatcom County Auditor’s Office, Election Division, 311 Grand Ave., Suite 103, Bellingham, WA  98225. Filings may be received by mail starting this week of April 27, but will not be processed until official filing week. Mailed filings must arrive no later than 4:30 p.m. on May 15.

  For more information, contact County Auditor Diana Bradrick at 360-778-5105.