Sol H. Lewis Award given annually to honor a man and woman, or group, serving the community

WHATCOM — The Lynden Tribune will again honor a man and a woman, or a group, who have given generously of their time and ability in community service.

Nominations will be accepted through Dec. 28 for the 2018 Sol Lewis Awards.

Sol H. Lewis was publisher of the Tribune from 1914 until his death in 1953. Grandfather of current Publisher Michael Lewis, Sol became famous as a beloved and progressive “country editor” who also inspired the nation through his radio talks during the dark days of World War II.

The awards, which began in 1981, honor a pair of individuals, or more recently a group, that have contributed their time, talent or other resources — apart from their regular work — to improve the communities of this area.

Nominees or groups should be in the Tribune’s primary circulation area: Lynden, Everson, Nooksack, Sumas, Laurel, Deming and the surrounding rural areas.

Readers are urged to make nominations on the form provided here or on a separate page. They should include their name and phone number, and give reasons for the nomination, with supporting explanation. You may renominate someone suggested before, but not chosen, for an award.   

Nominations are due at the Tribune office, 113 Sixth St., by 3 p.m. Friday, Dec. 28. They may be mailed to the Lynden Tribune at P.O. Box 153, Lynden, WA 98264, faxed to 360-354-4445, or e-mailed to

The winners will be honored in early 2018.

Past winners are:

1981 — Sid Lambert and Mary LeCocq

1982 — Clint McBeath and Claire vg Thomas

1983 — Henry Polinder and Kate Cyr

1984 — Hank Jansen and Pam Ames

1985 — Cap Galloway and Mary Snapper

1986 — Bill Verwolf and Esther Vanderhage

1987 — Jim and Carolyn Wynstra

1988 — Anton Neyens and Diane Miller

1989 — Phil DeKoster, Kit LaMonte and Betty Vargas

1990 — Rev. Earl Crouse and Ada Voskuilen

1991 — Jim Noteboom and Joanne Dykstra

1992 — George VanAchte and Cheryl Fullner

1993 — Hub DeJong and Gussie Berendsen

1994 — John Westergreen and Barbara Love

1995 — Jake Wagter and Joan Miller

1996 — Matt Lagerwey and Judy Knudsen

1997 — Bob Mitchell and Chris Paul

1998 — Bob VanWeerdhuizen and Money Maberry

1999 — Cheryl DeHaan and Rich Kayser

2000 — Joyce Pugh and Arie “Ike” Honcoop

2001 — Sylvia Thorpe and George Miller

2002 — Fran Protzeller and Tony VanRooyen

2003 — Arie and Mary Van Weerdhuizen

2004 — Herm Fransen and Freida Odegaard

2005 — Alvin Bajema and Alyce Werkema

2006 — Jim Kaemingk Sr. and Nancy Faber

2007 — Lynden Relay For Life and Million Smiles Playground Project

2008 — Bill Vander Pol and Debbie Vander Veen

2009 — Larry McPhail and Helen Zylstra

2010 — Henry Kaemingk and Susan Theisen

2011 — Ron Bruland and Carole Kornelis

2012 — Harlan Kredit and Heidi Doornenbal

2013 — Doug and Terhi Broersma

2014 — Celeste Mergens and Richard Decima

2015 — Linda Card, Debbie Lagerwey and Terry DeValois

2016 — Ted and Diane Lautenbach

2017 — Lynden Community Center volunteers