State Legislature also begins Monday

WHATCOM — Newly elected county officials will take their oath of office in a ceremony at 12:15 p.m.  Monday, Jan. 13, in the Whatcom County Council chambers, 311 Grand Ave., Bellingham.

This swearing-in involves the offices of county sheriff, auditor, assessor, treasurer and three County Council positions.
Light refreshments will be served in the council office conference room following the ceremony.
Separately, County Executive-elect Satpal Sidhu will be sworn in by outgoing County Auditor Debbie Adelstein at 11:30 a.m. Saturday, Jan. 11, in the auditorium of Meridian High School, 194 W. Laurel Rd.
For his event, Sidhu says he will share his leadership vision and the guiding principles of his administration. He wants this to be a community celebration, he said, with guests including leaders and supporters from across the county and state. Sidhu is currently a council member.
The public is invited to attend both these events.
Others newly elected in county government are Diana Bradrick as auditor, Rebecca Xczar as assessor, and Kathy Kershner and Ben Elenbaas onto the council. Bill Elfo continues as sheriff and Steven Oliver as treasurer, Carol Frazey on the council.
For more information, contact the County Council office at 360-778-5028.
The first meeting of the County Council in the new year is at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 14.
  • Also, the 2020 Washington State Legislature convenes at Monday, Jan. 13.
The 60-day session is scheduled to go through April 28.
Representing the 42nd District of north Whatcom County are Reps. Luanne Van Werven, R-Lynden; Sharon Shewmake, D-Bellingham; and Sen. Doug Ericksen, R-Ferndale. Their positions are up for election in 2020.