ballot box

County voter turnout around 31 percent 

WHATCOM — Early results for the Whatcom County primary election show Ronald DeValois and Brent Lenssen moving onto the general election in November pending final count. 

DeValois received 39.21 percent of the votes for Position 2 on the Lynden City Council, leading Darren Johnson who received 30.28 percent of the votes.

As of Tuesday night, about 3,000 ballots remained  to be counted. They will be counted sometime today. 

The race for Position 4 on the city council wasn’t as closely contested as Position 2.

Lenssen held a commanding lead as of Tuesday night with 2,111 votes, 67.94 percent. Lenssen’s closest competitor was Jen Marion, who received 526 votes, or 16.93 percent of the vote. 

Tony Larson and Satpal S. Sidhu also look to be advancing to the November election in the race for county executive. 

Kathy Kershner and Brian Estes lead the race for County Council District 4 while Ben Elenbaas and Natalie McClendon lead for District 5. 

Carol Frazey and David Ramirez lead the County Council At-Large Position B race. 

The race for commissioner in Fire District 21 had Scott Fischer receiving 52.63 percent of the vote and Dean Berkeley behind him with 19.26 percent received. 

Over in Bellingham, Seth Fleetwood and April Barker lead a tightly-contested race for mayor. Fleetwood leads with 4,963 votes, 29.38 percent of the vote. Barker received 4,217 votes, 24.97 percent of the vote. 

Results of this primary election are still unofficial. The results will not be certified until Aug. 20.