She continues to accompany

  CINCINNATI — Janice Brink, of Lynden, has been honored by the Music Teachers National Association as a 50-year member of that organization.

  Brink received her degree from Western Washington State College, and has since been teaching piano for 55 years.

  Along the way, Brink served a term as chair of the Washington State Music Teachers Association Foundation, and she was inducted into the WSMTA Hall of Fame in 2006. She continues to provide piano and organ accompaniment for churches, choirs, musicals, soloists, ensembles and community events.

  MTNA is a nonprofit of some 20,000 independent and collegiate music teachers committed to furthering the art of music through teaching, performance, composition and scholarly research. Founded in 1876, MTNA is the oldest professional music teachers association in the United States.

Student Ava Decker is local piano winner

  LYNDEN ­— The Lynden Music Teachers Association recently held its annual Piano Play-Off Competition to see which local student will perform at the state honors recital.

  The winner was Ava Decker. She is a student of Jan Brink.

  Ava would go on to play at the state recital in June except that it has been cancelled due to COVID-19.

  Many students were honored earlier this year in a Music Literacy Program covering music rhythm,  sight reading, technique, theory and ear training at 10 levels of competence.

  Level 1: Mia Alderliesten, Janson Burns, Jeremiah Crum, Sophia Dykstra, Lucy Faber, Jennie Haak, Luke Hilt, Harvey Jones, Gwyn Leavitt, Hadley Lodder, Megyn Norman, Chloe Pelleboer, Noah Pelleboer, Luca Plantinga, Addison Puckett, Georgia Rathbun, Sebastien Uribe, Lane VanderWoude, Addelyn Wagenaar, Jessie Wilhite, Ryan Young.

  Level 2: Charlotte Christensen, Olivia DeHaan, Natalie Elenbaas, Tana Hoekema, Colby Honcoop, Fei Kobes, Cooper Krieg, Helena Lindsay, Macie Miller, Andrew Savchak, Levi Plagerman, Grace Stevens, Jaymie Veldman, Owen Visser, Diana Voytovych, Logan Wilhite.

  Level 3: Elijah Black, Fischer Blok, Kathryn DeHaan, Alexander Harrison, Colin Hendricks, Braden Kooiman, Kayella Kottlenberg, Maleah Kottlenberg, Thijs Kroontje, Kerry Laufer,  Oliver Petree, Michal Ruiter, Amariah Ruiter, David Savchak, Brinley Sorenson, Eliana Stumpf, Reta VanderMey, Anya Verovaya, Erika Voytovych, Porter Wilhite.

  Level 4: Samuel Barker, Genevieve Cronk, Lily Danke, Emily Dykstra, Rachel Gomes, Lily Holt, Kaden Korthuis, Elizabeth Martin, Mattea Ruiter, Gracie Rutgers, Amber Tyler, Mariah VanderMey, Emily Young, Anna Young, Sara Yue.

  Level 5: Maddy Brown, Madeleine Engels, Kate Krieg, Madeline Morris, Clara Rogers, Merry Tamminga.

  Level 6: Samuel Hunter, Lizzie Krieg, Ethan Morris, Reta VanderMey.

  Level 7: Isaiah Black, Wiley Kirk, Jared McCrory, Malachi VanderMey.